Ascolta ora gratuitamente con il tuo abbonamento Audible

9,99 € /mese

Dopo 30 giorni, 9,99 €/mese. Cancella quando vuoi.
Ascolta senza limiti migliaia di audiolibri, podcast e serie originali
Disponibile su ogni dispositivo, anche senza connessione
9,99 € al mese, cancelli quando vuoi
Acquista ora a 20,95 €

Acquista ora a 20,95 €

Paga usando carta che finisce per
Confermando il tuo acquisto, accetti le Condizioni d'Uso di Audible e l'Informativa sulla Privacy di Amazon. Tasse dove applicabili.

Sintesi dell'editore

In the tradition of Tony Hillerman and Joseph Wambaugh comes this suspense thriller reuniting Bureau of Indian Affairs Criminal Investigator Emmett Quanah Parker and FBI Special Agent Anna Turnipseed, two Native American cops torn between their heritage and the law.

A fire-gutted police cruiser found in a remote part of the Navajo reservation bears witness to a horrific crime. Inside are the bodies of a tribal patrolman and his wife. As BIA Investigator Emmett Parker and FBI Special Agent Anna Turnipseed know, a cop's murder is never simple, raising countless questions and suspicions. When another murder is discovered, the case explodes into an otherworldly realm.

Both Parker, a Comanche, and Turnipseed, a Modoc, are well acquainted with the eerie shadow land between native myth and modern homicide investigation. Now they will have to touch minds with a murderer who has woven personal madness with Navajo myth to create his own reality - and with it the need to kill and kill again.

©2000 Kirk Mitchell (P)2009 Blackstone Audio, Inc.

"In his second suspense novel featuring unseasoned FBI Special Agent Anna Turnipseed and relentless Bureau of Indian Affairs Investigator Emmett Parker, Mitchell pulls out all the stops....Mitchell [is] a powerful writer of deep emotions, breathtaking natural beauty and nail-biting suspense. ( Publishers Weekly)

Cosa pensano gli ascoltatori di Spirit Sickness

Valutazione media degli utenti

Recensioni - seleziona qui sotto per cambiare la provenienza delle recensioni.

Non ci sono recensioni disponibili
Ordina per:
Filtra per:
  • Generale
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Ashanti
  • 23/10/2009

An excellent entry in the series

Kirk Mitchell is a good alternative to Tony Hillerman and the fictional detective duo of Emmett Parker and Anna Turnipseed make for a nice combination of police procedural, murder mystery with a bit of native American lore.

Veteren Audible narrator Stefan Rudnicki also did a good job on the book.

11 persone l'hanno trovata utile

  • Generale
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Michael Jacobi
  • 24/03/2011

Good but not Hillerman

Good suspense and well developed characters. And, a lot of surprises in the plot. Pretty graphic though, a route not taken by Tony Hillerman. I hope Audible supplies us with future episodes. Its a solid four stars.

7 persone l'hanno trovata utile

  • Generale
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Lettura
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Storia
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jerry Kulosky
  • 09/04/2021

Different and entertaining

Well written. The pace was quite good. The narrators deep voice and slow speach took some getting used to. The whole storyline reminded me of a fantasy novel. I haven't checked how factual the setting is. The book placed me in a different world. If this world exists as written then it is even more fascinating. I really liked this book

4 persone l'hanno trovata utile

  • Generale
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Lettura
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Storia
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 06/06/2021

Gritty mystery of the native American southwest

It’s fairly obvious that Tony Hillerman‘s success with this particular genre has inspired the author. The writing is pretty good except for an occasional misused word - apparently there are no editors anymore and dictionaries are a thing of the past - and the plotting is tight and makes sense, generally speaking. The story is more violent and less spiritual than Hillerman fans might expect, but compelling nevertheless.

3 persone l'hanno trovata utile

  • Generale
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Lettura
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Storia
    4 out of 5 stars
  • SP
  • 09/08/2021

Tough read

I’ve always been interested in Indian culture so although this didn’t measure up to the first I stuck with it. Like the characters and learn a bit more with each story so shall probably try another in a while.

2 persone l'hanno trovata utile

  • Generale
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Lettura
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Storia
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kindle Customer
  • 29/09/2021

Not Hillerman but still good

No this Kirk is not Tony Hillerman but still a darn good author in his own right. Good characters, wonder story line.

1 persona l'ha trovata utile

  • Generale
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Lettura
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Storia
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Marlena Allen
  • 24/08/2021

Gripping

The Emmett and Anna series is so good. I am surprised that this hasn’t been turned into a series and I would love to see what happens and see more books in the series come out.
The characters are so rich and the plots are so well written.

1 persona l'ha trovata utile

  • Generale
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Lettura
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Storia
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Chris
  • 09/07/2021

Great listen, interesting characters

Really enjoy this and ended up listening to the rest of the series, unique, engaging, and overall fun

1 persona l'ha trovata utile

  • Generale
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Lettura
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Storia
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Barbara C.
  • 09/04/2021

Spirit Sickness

It started out okay then the language became terrible. Would not recommend! Very disappointed. I listened to over half of it and that was enough.

1 persona l'ha trovata utile

  • Generale
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Lettura
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Storia
    4 out of 5 stars
  • S. Williams
  • 11/05/2022

Turnipseed and Parker are fast becoming favorites.

Narrator really brings them to life. Turnipseed and Parker are fast becoming favorites. Can't wait to start the next book in the series.