Vantaggi dell'abbonamento Vantaggi dell'abbonamento
  • Accedi ad un universo di contenuti audio, senza limiti d'ascolto.
  • Ascolta dove vuoi, quando vuoi, anche offline.
  • Dopo i primi 30 giorni gratis l’iscrizione si rinnova automaticamente a EUR 9,99 al mese.
  • Cancella la tua iscrizione in ogni momento.

Sintesi dell'editore

In the tradition of Tony Hillerman and Joseph Wambaugh comes this suspense thriller reuniting Bureau of Indian Affairs Criminal Investigator Emmett Quanah Parker and FBI Special Agent Anna Turnipseed, two Native American cops torn between their heritage and the law.

A fire-gutted police cruiser found in a remote part of the Navajo reservation bears witness to a horrific crime. Inside are the bodies of a tribal patrolman and his wife. As BIA Investigator Emmett Parker and FBI Special Agent Anna Turnipseed know, a cop's murder is never simple, raising countless questions and suspicions. When another murder is discovered, the case explodes into an otherworldly realm.

Both Parker, a Comanche, and Turnipseed, a Modoc, are well acquainted with the eerie shadow land between native myth and modern homicide investigation. Now they will have to touch minds with a murderer who has woven personal madness with Navajo myth to create his own reality - and with it the need to kill and kill again.

©2000 Kirk Mitchell (P)2009 Blackstone Audio, Inc.

"In his second suspense novel featuring unseasoned FBI Special Agent Anna Turnipseed and relentless Bureau of Indian Affairs Investigator Emmett Parker, Mitchell pulls out all the stops....Mitchell [is] a powerful writer of deep emotions, breathtaking natural beauty and nail-biting suspense. ( Publishers Weekly)

Cosa pensano gli ascoltatori di Spirit Sickness

Valutazione media degli utenti

Recensioni - seleziona qui sotto per cambiare la provenienza delle recensioni.

Non ci sono recensioni disponibili
Ordina per:
Filtra per:
  • Generale
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Ashanti
  • 23/10/2009

An excellent entry in the series

Kirk Mitchell is a good alternative to Tony Hillerman and the fictional detective duo of Emmett Parker and Anna Turnipseed make for a nice combination of police procedural, murder mystery with a bit of native American lore.

Veteren Audible narrator Stefan Rudnicki also did a good job on the book.

9 people found this helpful

  • Generale
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Michael Jacobi
  • 24/03/2011

Good but not Hillerman

Good suspense and well developed characters. And, a lot of surprises in the plot. Pretty graphic though, a route not taken by Tony Hillerman. I hope Audible supplies us with future episodes. Its a solid four stars.

2 people found this helpful

  • Generale
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Lettura
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Storia
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jerry Kulosky
  • 09/04/2021

Different and entertaining

Well written. The pace was quite good. The narrators deep voice and slow speach took some getting used to. The whole storyline reminded me of a fantasy novel. I haven't checked how factual the setting is. The book placed me in a different world. If this world exists as written then it is even more fascinating. I really liked this book

1 person found this helpful

  • Generale
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Lettura
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Storia
    5 out of 5 stars
  • viv
  • 02/05/2021

Decent story. Great narrator

Good story. Great narrator. The two main characters expressed angst over their attraction to each other but it was not smarmy or maudlin. Liked the interweaving of different American natives beliefs. Will try another by this author

  • Generale
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Lettura
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Storia
    4 out of 5 stars
  • G. Minott
  • 13/04/2021

If you're looking for the really scary...

I like to listen to audible while falling asleep, but that won't work with this writer, who has an endless imagination for scary stuff, plot twists, and enough valid characters to keep you guessing. This one is intriguing.

  • Generale
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Lettura
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Storia
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Sharon
  • 12/04/2021

More Emmett, less Turnipseed!

The story itself was quite good but it seems wrong for Emmett to turn over an investigation of this size and consequence to a veritable rookie and that it was even allowed. Sometimes she did fine, but especially toward the end of the book, she made some decisions that I thought were nothing short of stupid. And every time I hear "Turnipseed" it's like nails on a chalkboard. I don't think she likes it either! I am enjoying the series and will get the next book.

The narration is excellent!

  • Generale
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Lettura
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Storia
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Barbara C.
  • 09/04/2021

Spirit Sickness

It started out okay then the language became terrible. Would not recommend! Very disappointed. I listened to over half of it and that was enough.

  • Generale
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Lettura
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Storia
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Shandra Shaw
  • 21/03/2021

Sprit Sickness

Excellent story. It sure gives me an insight as to what the Native American people had to endure. The Narrator was very good.

  • Generale
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Lettura
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Storia
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Debbie
  • 27/01/2021

Evil, Murder and Indian Spirits

The second in the series of Emmet Parker and Anna Turnipseed is one that will keep you up all night listening . . . contemplating . . . and sweating bullets. As the two hunt for the killer of a tribal policeman and his wife, burned to death in the cop's police cruiser, it soon becomes evident that there is a particular kind of evil at work. It will take all that the two have within them to find it, get to its origin and extinguish it for good. Turnipseed's first case since nearly being killed several months earlier on another case, she is the lead on this case and carefully finding her footing and confidence. Emmett and Anna's undeniable attraction to one another, but not acted upon, is becoming difficult for them both. But before they can deal with that, they must track down a maniacal killer. The hunt takes them to unexpected places and exposes people that they thought they knew. Excellent story and satisfying conclusion.