Vantaggi dell'abbonamento Vantaggi dell'abbonamento
  • Accedi ad un universo di contenuti audio, senza limiti d'ascolto.
  • Ascolta dove vuoi, quando vuoi, anche offline.
  • Dopo i primi 30 giorni gratis l’iscrizione si rinnova automaticamente a EUR 9,99 al mese.
  • Cancella la tua iscrizione in ogni momento.

Sintesi dell'editore

A white-knuckle crime debut introducing DI Meg Dalton, perfect for fans of Broadchurch and Happy Valley.

The devil is coming....

A shocking death.

A lawyer is found dead in a Peak District cave, his face ribboned with scratches.

A sinister message.

Amidst rumours of a local curse, DI Meg Dalton is convinced this is cold-blooded murder. There's just one catch - chiselled into the cave wall above the body is an image of the grim reaper and the dead man's initials, and it's been there for over a century.

A deadly game.

As Meg battles to solve the increasingly disturbing case, it's clear someone knows her secrets. The murderer is playing games with Meg - and the dice are loaded....

©2018 Roz Watkins (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

"A fabulous book. I can't wait to meet DI Meg Dalton again." (B A Paris)
"An outstanding debut. The Devil's Dice had me gripped from the start." (Stephen Booth)
" The Devil's Dice encapsulates the dark heart of the Peaks and enthrals the reader with its clever and compelling plot." (Sarah Ward)

Cosa ne pensano gli iscritti

Non ci sono recensioni disponibili
Ordina per:
  • Totali
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Interpretazione
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Storia
    2 out of 5 stars
  • MotleyZoo
  • 19 03 2018

Good story idea, mediocre execution

This story has several interesting elements and a lot of potential, but the author's inability to conceal her personal animus to anything religious and her superficial, overly simplified presentation of the sanctity of life vs. euthanasia argument made the plot tiresome and the villain tediously obvious.

1 su 3 utenti hanno ritenuto utile questa recensione

  • Totali
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Interpretazione
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Storia
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Roberta Scott
  • 15 04 2018

Not to my taste

Too much noncontributory detail.
Unable to complete. Early on determined what I thought motivated behaviors. Book went on too long.
De gustabus.

0 su 1 utenti hanno ritenuto utile questa recensione

  • Totali
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Interpretazione
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Storia
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Tanya Hartman
  • 27 04 2018

Author’s anti-Christian rhetoric was just too much.

The ridiculous portrayals of Christians in this book is beyond acceptable. “Nutters” It just droned on and on about how unintelligent and insane Christians are. Story line could have been wrapped up a lot faster. Could have just said, “I want to bash God and Christians for hours” and let it be.

0 su 2 utenti hanno ritenuto utile questa recensione

Ordina per:
  • Totali
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interpretazione
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Storia
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Clematis
  • 09 03 2018

Superb - looking forward to more in this series

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

This is a gripping story, with the sparky DI Meg Dalton as the very likeable lead character.

4 su 4 utenti hanno ritenuto utile questa recensione

  • Totali
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Interpretazione
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Storia
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 09 06 2018

A generous 3 stars

Narration was very good and probably enabled me to get to the end of a very silly storyline. I got this book based on the reviews and am now of the firm belief that I must have been listening to something totally different from most other reviewers. Meg Dalton is a DI in the police force. I am not, but any, or indeed all mention of her job and how she does it seemed to show a definite lack of understanding of the job description or how the police work. Other snippets of information we are fed (probability theory, genetic disease, dark web, assisted suicide etc etc) seemed to be integrated into the plot line in a way that could have been so, so much better. I kept thinking the author had a potentially great idea but couldn't be bothered to undertake anything but the most basic research, and I use that term very loosely, to inform the reader and, of course, herself to write the book. Very disappointing.

1 su 1 utenti hanno ritenuto utile questa recensione

  • Totali
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Interpretazione
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Storia
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Sally
  • 15 05 2018

Had to skip chapters with this one

Too drawn out for me, had to skip to last few chapters, I did not find it a page turner.

2 su 3 utenti hanno ritenuto utile questa recensione

  • Totali
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Interpretazione
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Storia
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Colette
  • 13 06 2018

Going to return it

I've given this a good try, I've got about an hour into it. The narration is good but the rest of it is just quite silly. The dialogue is childish and unconvincing. After I'd cringed for the nth time I decided to move on to a better book.