• Discourses: Complete Books 1-4

  • Adapted for the Contemporary Reader (Harris Classics)
  • Di: Epictetus, James Harris
  • Letto da: Greg Douras
  • Durata: 8 ore e 51 min
  • Versione integrale
  • Data di pubblicazione: 09 03 2018
  • Lingua: Inglese
  • Editore: James Harris
Vantaggi dell'abbonamento Vantaggi dell'abbonamento
  • Accedi ad un universo di contenuti audio, senza limiti d'ascolto.
  • Ascolta dove vuoi, quando vuoi, anche offline.
  • Dopo i primi 30 giorni gratis l’iscrizione si rinnova automaticamente a EUR 9,99 al mese.
  • Cancella la tua iscrizione in ogni momento.

Sintesi dell'editore

The Discourses of Epictetus are a series of extracts from the teachings of the Stoic philosopher, Epictetus.

This is the complete version, containing books one through four.

©2018 James Harris (P)2018 James Harris

Cosa ne pensano gli iscritti

Non ci sono recensioni disponibili
Ordina per:
  • Totali
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interpretazione
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Storia
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Pizza Knight
  • 29 05 2018

A Refreshing Classic & An Invaluable Tool

A wonderful reading experience for those interested in stoic philosophy. This was an excellent follow up read to Meditations by Marcus Aurelius.

The narrator, Greg Douras, was perfect for reading this. He was clear and his tone was appropriate throughout.

This was worth the time spent listening to it. I have to highly recommend this one. Epictetus deserves more recognition for his work and a special place in the spotlight of stoic thought. This title was very refreshing and insightful. I will definitely be looking for more from this author/narrator duo. In addition, I would also recommend Letters From A Stoic by Lucius Seneca and also voiced by Greg Douras.

*This book was given to me for free at my request and I provided this voluntary review.

  • Totali
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interpretazione
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Storia
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Bill Beaulac
  • 29 05 2018

Classic work that is too often overlooked . . .

First of all, as the title of the book proclaims, this edition combines all 4 of the Contemporary Reader versions of Epictetus' Discourses into one listen which makes for a convenient listen.

Although not as well-known to the general public as philosophers such as Socrates and Plato, Epictetus was well versed in their studies and became a leader in what would become Stoicism. The philosophy of Epictetus, a freed slave in the Roman Empire, has been profoundly influential on Western thought offering stimulating ideas but practical guidance in living one's life as well as more global concerns. Basically, Epictetus believed that humans were rational beings living in a rational universe and that our convictions, attitudes, intentions, and actions are truly our own and thus control our overall reaction and outlook on life. Stoicism, as Epictetus sees it, is primarily about how well-being doesn’t derive from the possession of external things and circumstances, but from the control of internal states of mind. “Happiness is not getting what we want, but wanting what we get.”

I have to say, although I do not agree with all the teaching in these discourses, there is little room for debate that they are important pieces of what has become our western thought and well worth exploring. I would highly recommend this listen (as it truly is easier than trying to comprehend the reading of the work) to anyone that enjoys intellectual stimulation. If you have read and enjoyed Socrates, give Epictetus a shot. I did give the performance 4-stars based solely on my own preferences. The narrator does a fine job, but I found his pitch of his voice took some getting used to and I would have preferred a deeper, more authoritative narration. Again, just my opinion . . .

A review copy of this audiobook was provided by the author, narrator, or publisher at no cost in return for this unbiased review. If you found this review helpful, please take a moment to click yes below.